photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Posters for an English Class…Part I

Those of you who are high school teachers know how hard it is to find age appropriate posters for the high school classroom. I’ve always been envious of elementary teachers who can go to teacher supply stores and find aisles and aisles of awesome posters, borders, kits all for use in their classrooms.  Case in point, I went to Mardel the other day and fell in LOVE with this one packet of owl themed posters…alas, I don’t think the students in my CG Design classes or Video classes would love the owl theme…

My sister is in the same boat, teaching high school English, so I’ve been working on some different posters for her room – using quotes from works they will be reading throughout the year.

The first one comes from my favorite book, “To Kill a Mockingbird.” I may be adding a bird silhouette to this before it’s finalized.

Image

 

Next, from “A Separate Peace.”

Image

 

“Night,” by Elie Wiesel.

Image

 

And finally, “A Midsummer Night’s Dream.”

Image

 

I’m getting ready to tackle posters for “Fahrenheit 451,” “Romeo & Juliet,” “Farewell to Manzanar,” and more! Eventually I want to get enough for her to have a full set of posters for each unit she teaches, but this is a start!

One response

  1. Dee Schwinn

    Those are awesome! I like Night and Separate Peace the best.

    June 22, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Leave a Reply

