photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Friday Favorites: Ramen Salad

With the holiday weekend – and a busy one with a couple of get togethers for me, I knew that I would need a quick and easy salad to take.  For me, I have a go-to, crowd-pleaser that I make probably 80% of the time.  It takes about 5 minutes to whip together and doesn’t use too many ingredients, which is a plus.  Today’s Friday Favorite is my family’s favorite…Ramen Salad.

The ingredients you will need:

IMG_8185

Salad Ingredients

  • 1 pkg. cabbage (I usually go for the mixed…with red and green cabbage and carrots, but our store was out)
  • 1 pkg. Ramen (chicken flavored)
  • 3 oz. sliced or slivered almonds
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds.

Dressing:

  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 3 tablespoons vinegar (you can use white or apple cider – whatever you have on hand)
  • chicken flavor pouch from Ramen packet
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

First, mix together all ingredients for the salad in a large bowl.  Make sure to break up the Ramen noodles in to small pieces before mixing with the other ingredients.

IMG_8194

Next, mix up your dressing ingredients in a separate container, don’t forget to add that Ramen packet…I have once thrown it away before I got to this step…you will miss it if you forget it!

IMG_8198IMG_8200

Finally, add the dressing to your salad ingredients, and mix well.

IMG_8201

That’s it – salad done!

Note: You can add in some grilled chicken to make this more of a main dish for an easy lunch.  I’ve also made it with green onions added for just a little change.

I hope you enjoy this family favorite as much as my family does!

 

Leave a Reply

