photographing, cooking, laughing through life

Photo a Day Challenge (Days 5-11)

It was another full week of pictures – and I am glad that I got to use some skills that I don’t often get to practice with my camera.

Day Five: The #15

I really wasn’t feeling anything with the actual number 15 in it, so as I was preparing my classroom for the new semester, I thought it would be fun to do a low aperture photo and include 15 items in the picture. My only regret with this photo is that I didn’t have one more gray, black or purple marker…so there is the one “pink” marker in the photo.

IMG_2803

Day Six: Makes You Smile

Even though he sometimes drives me a little crazy…Hank does make me smile most of the time.  He’s been VERY into playing with his Christmas presents lately – and he wanted me to throw his Rudolph when I was taking this picture.

IMG_2816

 

Day Seven: Street

I really enjoy shooting long exposure pictures. You are able to capture many images that you can’t normally see.  When I saw today’s prompt was “street” I knew I wanted to take a long exposure picture to get some light trails in the photo.  My only regret is not being in a big enough city because it could have made more of an impact.

IMG_0576

 

Day Eight: Your Sky

I LOVE sunset in the Flint Hills.  I was hoping for a good one tonight, and it didn’t disappoint! I decided to shoot out in the country and found a cool clump of trees and used that as a point of interest in the photo.

IMG_0543

 

Day Nine: Daily Routine

Each day starts the same.  (It used to start more often than not with Starbucks, but that gets too expensive). I usually bring my own coffee or have some Tazo Joy tea (seriously, it’s the best) and start the day by checking email and finalizing plans for the day.

IMG_2822

 

Day Ten: One o’clock

There was no way I was getting up at 1 a.m., so I decided to take a picture of what I was doing at 1 p.m. – I got to spend the day with two of my good friends, starting with lunch at Radius Brewing Company and followed by shopping Emporia.  What a great way to spend a Saturday (without having to think about school stuff!!)

IMG_2824

 

Day Eleven: Water

I LOVE water droplet pictures, so I decided to try one out – while it was a little difficult to take without an assistant to control the droplets a little better, I was still able to achieve what I wanted in today’s picture.

IMG_0722

 

Here’s to another week in the books! I can’t wait to start next week’s photos!

One response

  1. I actually like the pink marker a lot. It’s a little surprise as your eyes scan the row. 🙂

    January 12, 2015 at 10:50 am

Leave a Reply

