photographing, cooking, laughing through life

The United States of YA

I love to read…always have, always will. As a high school teacher, I often find myself drawn to young adult books – books that I can read and then suggest to my students. I try to mix some YA in among the fiction and non-fiction that I “should” be reading…and I mean, I’m still a young adult, right?!

While I was scrolling through Pinterest one time, I found a link to a list called “The United States of YA” – this is a list of 50 YA books (one per state) that take place in that state – and I decided to take on the challenge. Here’s the photo of the United States of YA:

And while the photo is great, I also wanted to make a list that I could put in my planner and cross off as I finished each book. Below is the list of books – with stars next to the ones I’ve read (I can’t tell you how ticked I am that “The Wizard of Oz” is the Kansas book…I mean, really?!)

Alabama – The Splendor Falls by Rosemary Clement-Moore

Alaska – Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George

Arizona – Everybody Sees the Ants by A.S. King

Arkansas – Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley

California – Bloodlines by Richelle Meade

Colorado – A Beautiful Dark by Joscelyn Davies

Connecticut – My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Delaware – The Unbearable Book Club for Unsinkable Girls by Julie Schumacher

Florida – The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Georgia – Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

Hawaii – Under the Blood Red Sun by Graham Salisbury

Idaho – Deadline by Chris Crutcher

* Illinois – Divergent by Veronica Roth

* Indiana – The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Iowa – Ashfall by Mike Mullin

* Kansas – The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum

Kentucky – The Queen of Kentucky by Alecia Whitaker

Louisiana – Arise by Tara Hudson

* Maine – Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Maryland – Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause

Massachusetts – Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

Michigan – Wake by Lisa McMann

Minnesota – Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

Missouri – Beneath a Meth Moon by Jacqueline Woodson

Mississippi – Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton

Montana – The Miseducation of Cameron Post by Emily M. Danforth

Nebraska – Revived by Cat Patrick

Nevada – Crank by Ellen Hopkins

New Hampshire – Love and Leftovers by Sarah Tregay

New Jersey – White Cat by Holly Black

New Mexico – fated by Alyson Noel

New York – The Diviners by Libba Bray

* North Carolina –The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

North Dakota – The Beet Fields by Gary Paulsen

* Ohio – I am Number 4 by Pittacus Lore

Oklahoma – Knights of the Hill Country by Tim Tharp

* Oregon – If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Pennsylvania – Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard

Rhode Island – devilish by Maureen Johnson

South Carolina – Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia

South Dakota – Go Big or Go Home by Will Hobbs

Tennessee – Hourglass by Myra McEntire

Texas – Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey

Utah – Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Vermont – JIP: His Story by Katherine Paterson

* Virginia – The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

* Washington – The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

West Virginia – Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

* Wisconsin – Dairy Queen by Catherine Gilbert Murdock

Wyoming – Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

 

I’m only 1/5 of the way done so far with 10 of them read, but I’m excited to take on the challenge. I’ve started “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer” but I’m also reading “All the Light We Cannot See” which is WONDERFUL! I did find a list of a Literary Map of America that I’ll share in a future post that I’m also working through.

Happy Reading!

One response

  1. Ok, so I had to look and Go Big Or Go Home actually takes place in the town I live in. So now I have to read it! Very cool. 🙂

    March 8, 2016 at 11:06 am

Leave a Reply

