photographing, cooking, laughing through life

What’s for Dinner -Ground Turkey, Sweet Potato Skillet

I love, love, love sweet potatoes and am always looking for new recipes that incorporate sweet potatoes.  I’m also trying to eat a more healthy diet and stumbled on this recipe on Pinterest.  The original recipe comes from the Primavera Kitchen although I’ve made some minor changes as I’ve made it a couple of times.

The ingredients you will need:

  • 2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 lbs extra-lean ground turkey
  • 1 tsp clove garlic, minced
  • ½ cup onions, diced
  • ½ cup yellow pepper, diced
  • 1 ½ cup sweet potato, diced
  • Salt and pepper
  • ½ cup shredded mozzarella cheeseIMG_7515

Directions:

In a skillet (I used my Pampered Chef Rock Crock) heat oil over medium high heat.  Once heated, add the ground turkey and garlic and heat until cooked through (about 10 minutes)

IMG_7516

Next, add in your onions and yellow peppers and cook until onions brown. Last time I made this I didn’t have an onion, so I just put in double yellow pepper.

IMG_7517

Next, add in the salt/pepper and sweet potatoes.

IMG_7518

Cover your skillet and stir periodically.  Add in more oil or water (I find water works best) if needed and cook until sweet potatoes are cooked through. For me this takes about 10 minutes.

IMG_7519

Once the sweet potatoes are cooked through, cover with the cheese and put the skillet in a 400 degree oven until cheese is melted (this takes about a minute)

IMG_7520

Remove from the oven and enjoy! This makes approximately 4 servings.

IMG_7521

I will get to enjoy the leftovers for the rest of the week for lunches – and I think it’s almost better the second day!

One response

  1. Sounds good & I have all the ingredients, too!

    March 8, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Leave a Reply

